Tête-à-tête

tech-vs-place_feature

“Man is by nature a social animal; an individual who is unsocial naturally and not accidentally is either beneath our notice or more than human. Society is something that precedes the individual. Anyone who either cannot lead the common life or is so self-sufficient as not to need to, and therefore does not partake of society, is either a beast or a god.”
– Aristotle

collage-morning-coffee-cropped

tête-à-tête
noun
1.A face-to-face meeting, or private conversation between two people, usually in an intimate setting; a head-to-head.
2.A bench or sofa that allows two people to talk face-to-face.

coffee-768703-l

My love affair with coffee is a known fact among my peers, lovers, acquaintances, readers, colleagues and the masses. There is something with the perfect cup, the aroma of brewing beans and the awakening taste in coffee that loosens the tongue. “En vino veritas” as the old Latin saying goes, but the truth comes out for me with caffeine, wine pushes the snooze button on me anyway. The conversationalist and thinker is awakened, put to action with a few sips of the potion and although I enjoy a good portion of my time alone at cafes with the company of a good old book, the papers, work, my tablet/laptop, but definitely the best company I have for coffee are my fellow intellectuals and closest friends.

Many issues have been discussed, solutions to the world’s problems tackled, arguments, a good banter, life talk, love talk and random things that were on the spotlight. Maybe if technocrats and those in position and those who control the goings-on in our economic and political life would hear what we were talking about, they would be enlightened, and the world would be a better place. That’s how good and big the talks I have are. Because the conversation is that deep and filled with substance, it is filled with wit and good humor and backed by sufficient and valid knowledge – our opinions could make a newspaper column. Sometimes I would really want to purchase an old tape recorder, record our conversations because there is just so much to glean, so much to learn from the great minds I sit with. It is an honor. I know that like myself, they would make it big in this world, and be a voice that multitudes would heed.

On lazy days, I would dress up in my shorts, a loose polo, or maybe just a maxi dress, loose sandals, big sunnies and a canvas bag, bring a couple of books and have an iced coffee or tea al fresco. Lounge around for a good number of hours and after listening to Crossover (www.crossover.fm / 105.1 Crossover, no bias on this one, it really is good radio) or Radio High to absorb the mood even more, I would meet up with a friend or two and fill the afternoon with our laughter, gossip and intellectual conversation. I would gage how close I am to a person when I talk to them about my love life, my life, my childhood and some of my secrets. What I relish in the brief meetings I have with them is the portion of their life they share with me. When they tell me of their deepest secrets and their life stories. I like asking them about it, pretending to be Oprah, Tyra or Ellen when I ask them about things. Just like the books I read, they take me to a whole new dimension, these are good stories, good patches that would make a good life, I could be their biographer and that would be a privelege if given the chance.

The circles I move into are that of fellow artists, musicians, law students, young politicos, business men and professionals, it makes me proud to be within that circle and flexible because I found out more of their expertise and specializations that I am able to diversify my own. On the long stretches we are together and our mutual closeness and appreciation of the company, we do crazy things – that which would never fail to give us a good laugh even after a few years.

Sometimes, these coffee dates really make me think that I could fare through life alone, I don’t need to marry anyone us societal and traditional conventions would dictate. I have my friends to keep me company and yes this phase of my life made me discover that everyone is willing to make friends, you just have to open up your channels and your mind… In the most unexpected nooks and crannies, there are friends waiting to be discovered.

Over parties, alcohol, a big group and bong, I would prefer a good cup of coffee and a smaller company or a tete-a-tete with a good cup of coffee. ♥

conversations

This inspires me to write about these “Conversations over Coffee” on this blog, look out for that new category on my blog roll soon! ♥

Leave a Reply

